Review: Chickapea vegan mac
Review: Rollin Greens Frozen Cauliflower Wings

Is Culver's veggie burger vegan? And review

Culvers2

Is Culver's veggie burger vegan? A lot of people want to know the answer to this question. 

The answer is that no, the Culver's veggie burger is not vegan. It is, however, vegetarian.

-----------------------------------

Culver's Harvest Veggie Burger Review and Ingredients

My friend, who is not a vegetarian, told me about the Culver's veggie burger. I had never been to Culver's before, but she said it was good, so I decided to give it a try. I thought the veggie burger was good. I like that you can see the veggies in it, unlike some veggie burgers that are more meat-like. It was a good burger and I had fries with it.

When I got home I decided to look up their ingredients. I assumed it was vegetarian at least, but there are several ingredients I'm actively trying to avoid, because they cause intestinal inflammation. I should have looked up the ingredients before going there, because I was disappointed to see one of the ingredients I'm trying to avoid in the burger. Here is the ingredients list for the Culver's Harvest Veggie Burger:

Pasteurized Milk, Bleached Flour (Wheat Flour, Wheat Starch, Benzoyl Peroxide, Tricalcium Phosphate), Barley, Wheatberries, Roasted Corn, Portabella Mushrooms, Modified Corn Starch, Roasted Red Bell Peppers, Chick Peas, Spinach, Roasted Onions, Garlic, Roasted Green Bell Peppers, Contains less than 2% of Ammonium Bicarbonate, Cheese Culture, Dextrose, Eggs, Enzymes, Onion Powder, Salt, Sodium Phosphate, Soybean Oil, Spice, Sugar, Water, Xanthan Gum, Yeast, Yeast Extract.

Here's what is in the bun for Culver's veggie burger:

Enriched Wheat Flour [Flour, Malted Barley Flour, Reduced Iron, Niacin, Thiamin Mononitrate (Vit B1), Riboflavin (Vit B2), Folic Acid], Water, Sugar or High Fructose Corn Syrup, Yeast, Wheat Gluten, Potato Flour, Soybean Oil, Vinegar, Salt, Butter (cream, salt), Dough Conditioners (contains one of more of the following: Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Calcium Stearoyl Lactylate, Monoglyceride And/Or Diglycerides, Calcium Peroxide, Calcium Iodate, DATEM, Ethoxylated Mono- And Diglycerides, Enzymes), Caramel Color, Monocalcium Phosphate, Calcium Sulfate, Potassium Iodate, Enzymes, Ascorbic Acid, Citric Acid, Soy Lecithin, Calcium Propionate (Preservative). 

If you are wondering about the source of their enzymes to know if they are vegetarian or not, I did contact the company and they replied to say they are microbial enzymes. Therefore, their cheese is made with microbial enzymes, according to the company. The did say that if any type of animal enzymes are used it's to make small batches of specialty cheeses.

One of the inflammation-causing ingredients I try to avoid is mono and diglycerides. These are in their bun, not in the veggie burger itself. I took a look at their menu and saw that if I wanted to have the veggie burger again and avoid those ingredients, I could ask that the veggie burger be put on their sourdough or rye bread. That's something I may try in the future.

Culvers1

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.