Taking a natural approach to managing Crohn's Disease
Vegan breakfast sandwich - Vegan McMuffin

Are Starbursts vegetarian or vegan?

Starbursts

Are Starbursts vegetarian or vegan?

No, they are not vegetarian or vegan.

Many people want to know if the Starburst candies are vegan or vegetarian. One look at the ingredients and it is clear to see that they are not, because they contain gelatin. Here are the ingredients in Starburst chewy candies:

Corn Syrup, Sugar, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Fruit Juice from Concentrate (Cherry, Orange, Strawberry, Lemon), Citric Acid, Dextrin, Gelatin, Food Starch-Modified, Artificial and Natural Flavors, Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C), Coloring (Red 40, Yellow 5, Blue 1).

Starbursts are not vegetarian and they are not vegan. Gelatin is a substance that is made from animal parts, including bones, hooves, skin, etc. They are discarded items from the slaughterhouse industry that are then boiled and turned into a powder. When water is added to the powder it becomes sticky, turning into the gelatin that people are familiar with (like the snack people got as a child). 

Gelatin is not a vegetarian product and is not a vegan product. Starbursts contain gelatin, so they are not vegetarian or vegan. 

If you want a chewy candy like Starbursts that are vegetarian and vegan, try the Torie & Howard Organic Chewie Fruities Candies. They are really good and are vegan!



Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.