Are Smart Balance buttery spreads vegan?
Vegan Grants and Scholarships

Is Florida's Natural vitamin D vegan?

Vitamind

Is Florida's Natural vitamin D vegan?

If you go to buy orange juice you will see that some varieties have added "vitamin D" in it. The problem is that the source of vitamin D may not be vegan. Florida's Natural, for example, offers juice that that is 100% juice, with no added vitamin D, and they offer varieties that have added vitamin D. I wrote Florida's Natural to inquire about the source of their vitamin D. Here is their response:

"We appreciate your visiting our Florida's Natural Brand web site, inquiring on the source of our vitamin D. We use the D3 which is from Lanolin. This is the oily secretion from the skin of the sheep that becomes trapped in the sheep's wool. When the sheep is shorn the wool is washed, processed and the Lanolin Oil extracted and refined into the D3.

We do appreciate your support of our Florida's Natural Brand products."

As you can see, their source of vitamin D is not vegan. Therefore, skip buying any Florida's Natural juices that contain added vitamin D. Stick with the varieties that show the ingredients as 100% juice only. If vitamin D has been added to the juice it will be stated in the ingredient list.



Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.