Upton's Natural Cheesy Bacon Mac - vegan mac and cheese
Do vegans and vegetarians eat oysters?

Are Totinos Pizza Rolls Vegetarian?

Totinos-pizza-rolls

Are Totinos Pizza Rolls Vegetarian? I contacted the company to find out!

Not all cheese is vegetarian. It all depends on what type of rennet they use to make it. Cheese made with microbial rennet is vegetarian, but cheese made with animal rennet is not. Cheese made with animal rennet is not vegetarian, because the rennet is taken from the stomach of the slaughtered cow. The cow dies to get the rennet, thus making the product non-vegetarian. If you are a vegetarian who is going to eat dairy cheese, you want to find out the source of the rennet to see if the cheese is vegetarian.

I wrote the company that makes Totinos Pizza Rolls to ask what their rennet source is. Here's the response I got back:

"Thank you for contacting Totino's.

The enzymes used to make the cheese may be from an animal source depending on the supplier at the time of production. We do use both animal and microbial rennet sources in our pizza's and rolls.

Thank you for your interest in Totino's. We hope this information is helpful to you."

This means that you don't know if the cheese they are using in the box you purchase is vegetarian or not. Buying Totinos Pizza Rolls is like rolling the dice, because you don't know if you are going to get the animal or microbial source. Therefore, I would say that their pizza rolls need to be considered non-vegetarian. There's just no way to know if the ones you are getting use microbial rennet, so it's best to avoid them all together. 



Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.