5 Best Vegetarian Cookbooks / Vegan Cookbooks
Hippeas organic chickpea puffs review - vegan chickpea puffs

Vegan Options at Chipotle - Vegetarian Options at Chipotle

Sofritos-bowl-chipotle
Sofritos bowl at Chipotle

Vegan Options at Chipotle - Vegetarian Options at Chipotle

My husband loves to eat Mexican-style foods. We've been to Chipotle many times before, but it's been a while since we have been there. Today, we went for lunch. Chipotle is a pretty easy place to vegan at. The vegan options at Chipotle include getting the sofritas (a spicy tofu) or vegetables. You can get that in a bowl, burrito, or tacos. The chips and salsa are also vegan, as are their rice, beans, and guacamole. 

My husband opted for the sofritas burrito, while I opted for the sofritas bowl (with two small tortillas on the side). My bowl had rice, beans, grilled veggies, sofritas, salsa, and lettuce. 

If you like spicy foods you will love the sofritas! The tofu is pretty spicy to me and I'm not a big fan of spicy foods. I still liked the flavor of it, but it's hard for me to eat much of spicy foods. Next time, I'd opt for the vegetable bowl, burrito, or tacos, leaving out the sofritas. We paired it up with chips and salsa, which are good there.

I think it's great that Chipotle offers sofritas (spicy tofu) and vegetables and you can easily eat vegan there. If you are looking for a good quick fast food meal, the vegan Chipotle options will be a good option if you like Mexican food.

Vegan Chipotle Options (choose to have it in a burrito, bowl or tacos, as all are vegan):

  • Black and pinto beans
  • Fajita vegetables
  • Sofritas
  • All salsas
  • Guacamole
  • Lettuce
  • Chips

Vegetarian Chipotle Options (choose to have it in a burrito, bowl or tacos, as all are vegan):

  • Black and pinto beans
  • Fajita vegetables
  • Sofritas
  • All salsas
  • Guacamole
  • Lettuce
  • Chips
  • Queso
  • Cheese
  • Sour cream
  • Vinaigrette (they list it as vegetarian due to sulphites)

According to Chipotle:
"Our Sofritas is vegan and vegetarian approved. Vegans should avoid our meats, shredded Monterey Jack cheese, queso, sour cream, and chipotle-honey vinaigrette. Our tortillas, vegetables, rice, beans, salsas, chips and guacamole, are vegetarian and vegan. If you eat dairy, our shredded Monterey Jack cheese and queso are made with vegetable-based rennet and our sour cream is 100% cultured cream."



Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.