Aldi's Earth Grown vegan meatballs review
Impossible Burger at Cheesecake Factory Review

Is candy corn vegetarian?

Kids eatfree (1)

Every Halloween candy corn becomes a big craze. People gobble it up by the handful, but if you are a vegetarian you will want to know whether or not it's vegetarian. 

No, candy corn is not vegetarian.

Here's the ingredients found in the Brach's brand candy corn (which is the same at Sathers candy corn): 

"Sugar, Corn Syrup, Confectioner's Glaze (Shellac), Salt, Dextrose, Gelatin, Sesame Oil, Artificial Flavor, Honey, Yellow 6, Yellow 5, Red 3."

There are two ingredients that listed in that candy corn that is not vegetarian: confectioner's glaze and gelatin. Confectioner's glaze is essentially bug juice (read more about it here) and gelatin is slaughterhouse leftovers (ground up bones, hooves tendons, etc.) Neither of those ingredients is vegetarian, so candy corn is not vegetarian. 

Here are the ingredients found in Jelly Belly brand candy corn:

"SUGAR, CORN SYRUP, CONTAINS 2% OR LESS OF THE FOLLOWING: MODIFIED SOY PROTEIN, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, SORBITOL, COLOR ADDED, YELLOW 6 LAKE, YELLOW 5, RED 3, BEESWAX, CARNAUBA WAX, CONFECTIONER'S GLAZE, SALT."

This contains confectioners glaze, so it is not vegetarian.

Candy corn isn't vegetarian. Unless you are lucky enough to find one at some health food store that isn't made with ingredients like confectioner's glaze / shellac, or gelatin. But I've yet to ever find a vegetarian candy corn and I've been looking since 1995.



Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.