Eating vegan at Taco Bell is simple! Taco Bell is one of the most vegan friendly fast food restaurants out there. Maybe you don't want to make a habit out of it, but if you are traveling or want a once-in-a-while quick meal, they will make it happen. They are a vegetarian and vegan friendly fast food restaurant you can find all over the country.
Ordering vegan at Taco Bell is quite simple. Here are some tips for ordering vegan at Taco Bell:
- Most of their dishes can be made vegan by substituting beans for meat and removing the cheese. To sub beans for meat just order it by saying what you want and say "substitute beans for meat." There's no charge for that and you will get beans instead.
- If you are ordering something that is vegetarian (such as a bean burrito or potato taco) and it has cheese on it, just order it "fresco." When you tell them you want it "fresco" style then it automatically removes the cheese and replaces it with pico de gallo. It's a simple, but tasty switch that is easy and free. According to Taco Bell: "Almost any menu item can be customized “Fresco style”, which replaces mayo-based sauces, cheeses, reduced-fat sour cream and guacamole on almost any menu item with freshly-prepared pico de gallo."
So what is vegan or can be made vegan at Taco Bell? Lots of things! Burritos, tacos, tostadas, potato tacos, and black beans and rice. Order their bean burrito fresco, black bean burrito fresco, 7-layer burrito fresco, black beans and rice fresco, potato tacos fresco, and spicy tostada fresco. Their cinnamon twists are also vegan!
Here are a list of certified vegan ingredients at Taco Bell:
Ordering vegan at Taco Bell is easy. Replace meat with beans and ask for fresco style if the item has cheese or non-vegan sauces. It's just that simple! And if you are vegetarian it's good know that while Doritos are not vegetarian, the Dorito taco shells at Taco Bell are!