Many cheeses in the US are vegetarian, as they use a microbial rennet source. Still, there are places that use animal-derived rennet sources. Products made with animal-derived rennet sources are not vegetarian. Rennet that comes from an animal is from the stomach lining of a slaughtered cow, sheep, or goat. Some places also use rennet derived from slaughtered pigs. So to answer the question that many people have:
Is Jet's pizza cheese vegetarian? Do they use animal or microbial sources of rennet?
I contacted the company directly to ask them if their pizza cheese was vegetarian/what the origin of the enzymes are. Here's the response I got back from them today:
"Thank you for emailing us regarding if our cheese contains any animal rennet. We are happy to confirm that our Mozzarella Cheese we use on our pizzas does not contain any animal based enzymes. We hope this answers your question. Please feel free to email us if you have any further questions regarding this."
There you have it... Jet's Pizza cheese is vegetarian! Jet's Pizza does not use animal based enzymes in their cheese.