It amazes me all the products I pick up in the grocery store that are rendered non-vegetarian because of some odd ingredient that shouldn't be there in the first place. If you are not a label reader, you simply have to make it a priority.
Case in point, this week while grocery shopping I picked up a bag of Planter's
sunflower seeds. I flip it over to read the ingredients list and low and behold, there's gelatin! Now tell me, please, why on Earth is there a need for gelatin in sunflower seeds?
This isn't the first time that I have been so surprised. Another odd one is finding fish as an ingredient in microwave popcorn. No, I'm not kidding. And for lacto-vegetarians, there is fish in some butter/margarine products.
It's almost as if there is a consipracy against eating vegetarian (newsflash, right?). They are putting animal products in foods that by nature are vegetarian and vegan. Not only does this not make sense, but they are immediately turning off a sector of the population by doing this.
But then again, maybe they simply don't care about the three percent of the country that are vegetarians. After all, the other 97 percent could care less what they put in their mouths.