Is Kraft grated parmesan cheese vegetarian?
Is Jet's Pizza cheese vegetarian?

Are Pringles vegetarian? Do they use animal or microbial rennet?

Pringles-cheese-vegetarian

Many cheeses in the US are vegetarian, as they use a microbial rennet source. Still, there are places that use animal-derived rennet sources. Products made with animal-derived rennet sources are not vegetarian. Rennet that comes from an animal is from the stomach lining of a slaughtered cow, sheep, or goat. Some places also use rennet derived from slaughtered pigs. So to answer the question that many people have:

Are Pringles vegetarian? Do they use animal or microbial sources of rennet?

I contacted the company directly to ask them if their Pringles are vegetarian/what the origin of the enzymes are. They contain flavors that have cheese, so this will help people to know if the cheese uses an animal or microbial source of rennet. Here's the response I got back from them today:

"Thank you for contacting us about the enzymes we use.  Your interest in Pringles® is greatly appreciated and I'm happy to help provide more information.

Please be assured the enzymes in Kellogg (Pringles®) products are all from a microbial source unless stated otherwise on the ingredient list.

We understand your concern and interest in avoiding ingredients from animal sources. The following information applies to products made for the United States market. Products sold in other countries may have different ingredients and nutrition information. Below is a list of ingredients we know for sure are not from animal sources and a list of ingredients that we know for sure are from animal sources.

Non-Animal Sources:

• Vitamin B12
• Vitamin B2
• Lactic acid
• Proteolytic enzymes
• Rennet
• Emulsifiers (including monoglycerides, diglycerides and polysorbate)
• Enzymes
• Glycerin
• Yeast ingredients

Animal Sources:

• Eggs
• Dairy (Milk, Whey, Casein, Cheese, Lactose and Yogurt)
• Gelatin
• Vitamin D

I hope that this information was helpful.  If you have additional questions or want to know about other ingredients not listed above, feel free to reach out to us further.

Thanks again, Jacqueline, for the time you took to contact us.
 
We’re always here to help.  Additional comments or photos are welcome. Please share them by clicking here to add to this conversation.

Kellogg Consumer Affairs"

So it appears as though Pringles are indeed vegetarian. They use a microbial rennet source to produce their chips that may contain cheese. They do also offer chips that do not contain cheese, so you can opt for those and not even worry about if the Pringles are vegetarian or not. But now you know the source of their rennet is microbial.

 


Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.